applicationsnoob.blogg.se

My little blacksmith shop mine door
My little blacksmith shop mine door














He told father he could have it for seventy-five dollars. Carr's which my father rented for a year at the end of that time father met a young fellow who lived about two miles from us and wanted to sell his claim. There was a house and a blacksmith shop just across the road from Mr. When we went in the house the master and the mistress were not home and here came the darkeys, old, little, big and young which frightened we children terribly. Carr's and we boarded there for three months. When I got well we went out in the country to a Mr.

my little blacksmith shop mine door

I was taken sick at the hotel with pluerisy and we were compelled to stay there three weeks. He came back with the darkey and found us at the hotel. Harris the proprieter, told the darkey to overtake him and tell him his family was there. Warfield passing down the street with a suitcase in his hand. About the fourth day a darkey came in and said he had seen Mr. Then he laughed at me for I wouldn't eat my cake and he saw my embarrasment.Ī few days after arriving we found father. The steward replied, "That is not sweet cake it is corn pone." I still thought I wanted it for it looked as good but when my wish was gratified I nibbled a few small bites and left the rest. While on the boat one day at dinner I discovered a good looking cake and asked the steward if I could have a piece of it. One was in for the fourth time one for stealing and the other for killing her husband. What impressed me the most was seeing two women there. Joseph, Missouri where we got off the boat and visited the penitentary. I was so anxious to see father and the new home. We were on the boat because the river was so low and the boat was stuck several times. There we took the boat, the Admiral for Kansas City. Grandma hugged us and cried and cried and we never saw her again. How far away that seemed! We felt like we would never get to come back to dear friends and relatives. At last the time came for us to go to father away off in Kansas. Mother said some things but most of the furniture was shipped. They brought us many little presents and candy and nuts. In the meantime Mother's aunt and her husband and two sons came by from Pennsylvania to see us. Grandma and Mother were busy sewing getting us ready to go when father wrote us to come but it was several weeks before we got off. He took a homestead and wrote and told mother to get ready and he would get a home ready for us and write us when to come, and we children talked of nothing else but going to Kansas, but when we thought of leaving dear grandmother and Uncle Charley and Aunt Sarah behind we would feel sad and unhappy. He was home with us for a few weeks then he went back to Kansas again. Dear Mother could hardly talk and tell him of the sorrow she had born without him. How glad we were to have him with us again. Mother and Grandma set dinner on the table but we couldn't eat it.ĭear Father came home. We children went into the parlor and lay on the carpet and cried. We all wept to see him put under the sod. Little brother was buried two days before father reached home. While he was in Kansas mother wrote him that dear little brother Lem, only two years old,had died. We wrote to father to tell him of my uncle's arrival then we wrote again immediately after his death but the letter did not reach him for he had left Kentucky for Kansas. It made us all sad and sick for we all loved him. He was just there one day before he died. He had not been gone but three weeks when my uncle, His brother Ben came to our house. He then had a hemorhage of the lungs and the doctor advised him to go to Kentucky for his health. Father had worked at blacksmithing for three or four years. She had graduated from the academy at Jacksenville. Mother was a teacher when married and had tought two terms or three. He was a blacksmith by trade and built the house and shop. When I was five years old the railroad gave father three acres of land in Gerared, Illinois if he would build a blacksmith shop and a house on it.

#MY LITTLE BLACKSMITH SHOP MINE DOOR FULL#

Alfred, Charley were my full brothers, and sisters. After my mothers second marriage two more were born-two boys. Seven children were born to my mother and father. He was nineteen when he was married to my Mother.

my little blacksmith shop mine door

My father was born in Kentucky near Louisville. My parents were married January 29, 1848. I was born in Maroupin County, Illinois, in Jackensville. Contributed by Lester Merklin and produced by Jean Suman, Lynn Nelson, and Susan Stafford.














My little blacksmith shop mine door